Not without a review

I don’t know how to say this without sounding an idiot- I can’t read a book without a review. I can’t watch a film unless I have read that it is good.

I can’t watch something just because it is new!

I think the only exception to this is listening to recent podcasts or watching new vlogs. So, I rationalize that by saying: this is just a ten minute video, or I am listening to this podcast while doing a mechanical chore/activity. The vlog-watching is really unproductive, because you can be carried away into a content consumption spree after excusing yourself from work for some ‘break-time’. On the other hand, podcast-listening makes me feel that I am being super-productive as I am getting things (that don’t require as much of my attention) done, and still listening and learning good things.

Anyway, I won’t watch a TV series if people don’t recommend it. I think, TV is commitment! Commitment to download so many files, commitment to invest time on the characters. So, I definitely have to know if it is good. Sometimes, I do end up watching crappy shows because of friends who ‘highly-recommend’ crap. I hate-watch such shows. Hate-watching is venting frustration about the characters, making fun of the dialogues/plot and sending angry messages to the ‘friend’ who recommended it. I have not been able to successfully filter good shows from bad shows.

With respect to movies, I feel I can’t pay for a bad movie. I am not the person who will walk out of a movie because it is bad. I will watch a bad movie till the end. So, I would rather just be assured that it is a good movie and it is worth my time. Again, I was reflecting if there was any movie that I watched the first day-first show. If there was some movie like that, it must have been a “franchise” movie, but I don’t think I indulged in even that unless I have read online reviews by American audiences.

You’re feeling sad for me by now, right?

I have not been able to read a new book, just because it is new. I can’t allow myself that because I feel guilty about not having read the good, old classics or contemporary hits, to indulge in reading the new, unestablished authors. I also feel bad that this kind of thinking, does nothing to encourage new authors and writers. It will also come to bite me when I finally publish something someday. I don’t remember when I read a new author last. Maybe, it was The Hunger Games. But even that I read because it became popular.

Horrible, right?

Signing off,

Tame SheWolf

PS: Tell me you do it too, and our sins will become commonplace and petty.

2 thoughts on “Not without a review

  1. I totally agree with you on this point.

    Earlier(during our parent’s time) there was limited content that used to release. Limited movies, songs etc and people did not have much of an option to choose.

    Today thanks to Internet, we have an access to an ocean of contents which obviously one cannot watch entirely but has to watch selectively.

    One cannot afford to watch something which is not appealing to the masses or experiment because it’s time consuming with no productivity in return.

    I guess most of us do this, like Steve here(comments section). Reading a review really helps and has an upper hand in decision making to watch something or to purchase something, even to try out a new place to dine/drink/visit…

    My apologies for a long post like comment, but again yes, I can relate.

    Like

Tell me what you think:

