Analyzing my writing

In my last post, I had decided I am analytically morbid (like Lovecraft), and creatively nonsensical (like Carroll). Hear me reason out loud!

When I write like “H P Lovecraft”

So, this tool (pun intended) says that I write like H P Lovecraft. I had submitted this write-up for the analysis:

Reading Fiction

Most agree that reading is a good habit, but many also neglect the importance of reading novels and stories. I love reading, and it is true that I lap up fiction faster than non-fiction. In spite of that I have a hard time convincing people about the importance of reading fiction. Apparently, “just!” and “for the heck of it!” are reasons not good enough.

I really believe that one must try not to cut back on reading fiction or limit students to the assigned readings given in a coursework. Even though it may seem that people read fiction only for pleasure and it doesn’t contribute to their knowledge or personal growth, I assure you it is not the case.

Reading fiction is an important way to inculcate the habit of reading in children and young adults. It teaches you a language without being didactic, and without you explicitly realizing the process. It would be foolish to believe that fiction doesn’t require critical thinking.  In fact, it cultivates the habits of reflection and evaluation. It helps you to explore the “what-ifs” and “should-bes”. Fiction may not be the truth but it helps the writer and the reader use that as an excuse to safely take the journey that tests the limits of morality; to have discussions that would otherwise be deemed unnecessary. Fiction readers who are emotionally engaged to the story also develop the trait of empathy.

I agree with William Styron, who said that: “A great book should leave you with many experiences, and slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading.” 

To get the most from reading, I think, there should be a healthy balance between reading non-fiction and fiction, rather than sticking to just one genre.

 

THE EVALUATION:

(This was my final assignment graded by five peers from the online course.)

What my peers said:

Your grade is 85.5/90, which is simply the grade you received from your peers.

peer 1 → I liked reading your paragraph. You have been effective in helping me add to my own reasons for reading fiction! 🙂 *goes off to reserve a ‘Lord of the Rings’ book from her library, online* ^-^ -Leah

peer 3 → A few punctuation issues. Your concluding sentence really looks more like the topic sentence for a paragraph to come afterwards. The sentence about “empathy” seems out of place, like it was thrown in there but never developed.

peer 4 → Great job. 🙂

 

I like when peer assessments are kind. I agree with Peer 3 even. By the way, I’ve not excluded any comment. Some just don’t prefer commenting and only score the paragraph.

 

But H P LOVECRAFT talks like this:

  •  “The world is indeed comic, but the joke is on mankind.”
  • “It is true that I have sent six bullets through the head of my best friend, and yet I hope to show by this statement that I am not his murderer.”
  • “All I say is that I think it is damned unlikely that anything like a central cosmic will, a spirit world, or an eternal survival of personality exist. They are the most preposterous and unjustified of all the guesses which can be made about the universe, and I am not enough of a hair-splitter to pretend that I don’t regard them as arrant and negligible moonshine. In theory I am an agnostic, but pending the appearance of radical evidence I must be classed, practically and provisionally, as an atheist.”
  • “Creative minds are uneven, and the best of fabrics have their dull spots.”

 

Ha, this guy definitely talks like me!

 

 

When I write like “Lewis Caroll”

The same tool (pun still intended) also says that I write like Lewis Carroll. I had submitted this write-up for the analysis:

 

Kabir, a thoughtful, little boy, doesn’t have any preferences when it comes to choosing his favorite season. If you persist a little, he’ll answer that he doesn’t really like going to school during monsoons. He explains further that he’d rather get wet in the rains and let his mother worry about him getting sick than he himself having to worry about getting his notebooks damp. It seems it doesn’t bother him as much because as soon as he says that, he starts to describe the monsoon as he sees it.

(Well, by the way, he describes the whole scene in simpler terms.)

Apparently, he is fascinated by the snails that crawl on wet walls and tree trunks. The shell that grows with the size of the snail, the pace that never seems to increase with the size, the thin antennae attached to their slimy body among many other things, fascinates him. He likes to watch how the snail curls inside its hood as soon as he presses its shell.
It’s not only the snails that capture his wonder, he also likes the frogs. It is hard to notice a frog, he says. The frogs, camouflaged in the mud, can be spotted when they’re jumping around in the corners. He loves trying to pick them up and scare the girls in his building. He suddenly remarks that he loves all types of insect for that matter, and so many creep out of the earth during the rains!

By now, you’d conclude that he only likes the monsoon for the insects he gets to play with.

But he is not done with his description yet. He declares how he likes the drama of the grey clouds, with its thunders followed by lightening, that announce the arrival of storms. He is not that scared of the thunder, he adds. He is in ‘awe’ of it. After the storm, he loves the incessant chirping of the birds, and of course, the rainbows. He also loves the smell of fresh, wet earth.

His friends, whom he knows since as far back as he can remember, make paper-boats to play with. Sailing them on dirty puddles, the kids even try to transport small, light pebbles on the paper-boats sometimes. To measure the ideal weight their delicate boats can carry, they experiment with different sizes of the pebbles and thickness of the paper.

Lost in thought, he smiles. At the end, he wonders aloud why anyone has to choose a favorite season anyway.

 

THE EVALUATION:

(This too was one of my assignments. Frankly, I don’t like it that much. The assignment required one to describe a natural scene compulsorily using all four types of sentences, all the types of phrases/clauses/what not. According to me, it made the passage fake and unnecessarily complicated. Hence, the joke ‘he describes the whole scene in simpler terms.’ I was expecting a lot of criticism and a low score in this one. Apparently, no one seemed to bother as long as I followed the assignment. Yay me! )

What my peers said: 

Your grade is 20/20, which is simply the grade you received from your peers.

peer 2 → Description is good but unnecessarily lengthy.

peer 4 → Wow, very thrilling piece of writing! Thoroughly enjoyed.

 

But LEWIS CARROLL talks like this:

  • “You used to be much more…”muchier.” You’ve lost your muchness.”
  • “I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then”
  • “Well, I never heard it before, but it sounds uncommon nonsense.”
  • “Be what you would seem to be – or, if you’d like it put more simply – never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise.”

 

It would be fun to talk like this.

Well, I am also Rudyard Kipling, and even David Foster Wallace. I am sure, if I let the statistical tool analyze my other write-ups, I’ll be someone else. So I am being sober about my celebrity writing style. 😛
Anyway, this post may seem dry to you although it is quite amusing to me.

Too much analysis & counter-analysis for the day,

Signing off

Tame SheWolf

4 thoughts on “Analyzing my writing

Tell me what you think:

