Birthday Wish

“I feel monotony and death to be almost the same”

~Charlotte Bronte

Yawn. I’ll be 19 this Sunday.

Guess what? Life has turned out to be disappointingly normal.

Aaaaaargh! The pain of being normal: neither succeeding greatly nor failing devastatingly. Just being, like some silly, invisible, unimportant amoeba.

I’ve already warned everybody that I don’t want to celebrate the beginning of the normalcy of another year. In my last two birthdays, I’ve been all cheery in the month of July and ended up with a brain-numbingly normal year.
So this time I will not even raise my expectations for a refreshing change.
More monotonous, predictable days of life: bring it on!

Later I thought what could I change? What should I change? There are many ideal answers to give myself. But then I am already the pre-perfect version of what I want to be. The discrepancy between my ideal self and my present self-concept are all external factors that will come and fill the gaps overtime. In my head, I’m sorted. I believe that.

Best thing about this July- the Harry Potter Film. It all ends here. Man, that hurts. Childhood is officially over. Quick story to tell you here: When I read my first Rowling book, I had made a pact with your non-existent god that he let me live at least until all of Harry Potter movies release.
So when there were blasts this week in Bombay, you know who didn’t die: ME!
Yeah, I know. Morbid joke. But tell you what, it’s a free country. And it’s also unsafe.

Anyway, I made a poetic birthday wish-list for the year (and with the low rate of wishes granted per year by the Wish-approval department of the universe, it just might be the same for all birthdays).

Here goes:

Let there be a storm in my heart.

Gimme some adrenaline rush.

Force me to think harder,

To save me from the stagnant rut.

 .

Let passion control me, and the truth

When faced with failure,

Lead me to the reason to start over new.

My dreams must win against my fears

.

Oh! and finally,

That standard wish of mine:

Make me filthy rich and rib-cracking witty!

 .

Yeah thanks, this much would be just fine.

(Gasping to blow out the candles)

Signing off,

Tame SheWolf

WORDLY WISE:

“Age merely shows what children we remain.”

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

P.S: If I win the dell laptop then that’ll be the highlight of the month. The competition results will be out tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Birthday Wish

  1. Ride a rollercoaster

    Nice!
    and… ahem.
    Answer to the first three lines in your poem.
    Eat spicy food.
    Play chess with yourself.

    Like

Tell me what you think:

