The prologue to Paulo Coelho’s book ‘Eleven Minutes’

The prologue to Paulo Coelho’s book ‘Eleven Minutes’

“This poem and even the book is a must-read, guys! And this section of my blog- Nerdy SheWolf Suggests is actually to force y’all to read some great literature that I am touched by”
— Tame SheWolf

HYMN TO ISIS, third or fourth century BC, discovered in Nag Hammadi


For I am the first and the last

I am the venerated and the despised

I am the prostitute and the saint

I am the wife and the virgin

I am the mother and the daughter

I am the arms of my mother

I am barren and my children are many

I am the married woman and the spinster

I am the woman who gives birth and she who never procreated

I am the consolation for the pain of birth

I am the wife and the husband

And it was my man who created me

I am the mother of my father

I am the sister of my husband

And he is my rejected son

Always respect me

For I am the shameful and the magnificent one 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “The prologue to Paulo Coelho’s book ‘Eleven Minutes’

Tell me what you think:

